Vijayanagara to become Karnataka’s 31st district

The Karnataka state government on Monday issued an official gazette notification carving out Vijayanagara district from Ballari. Vijayanagara will become the 31st district of Karnataka.

The new district will have six taluks and Hosapete will be its headquarters. Kudligi, Hagaribommana halli, Kotturu, Hoovina Hadagali, and Harapanahalli are the other five taluks.

Ballari district will have five taluks- Ballari, Kurugodu, Siraguppa, Kampli, and Sanduru. Ballari taluk will remain its headquarters.

On November 18 last year, the state cabinet gave principle approval for creation of Vijayanagara district.

Inputs from PTI

Scroll to Top